URGENT ACTION ALERT – CITY OF SAN DIEGO ARTS & CULTURE FUNDING

URGENT ACTION ALERT – CITY OF SAN DIEGO ARTS & CULTURE FUNDING

ACTION REQUESTED: Contact City Council Members NOW – Urge Support for Penny for the Arts in Their Budget Memos

ACTION NEEDED BY: Friday, January 12

As many of you already know, San Diego arts and culture organizations are already facing a potential 35% cut from FY17 levels.

Our best step at this moment is to ensure Arts and Culture is included as a priority in the budget memos for the City Council Members.

When do you need to act?
The budget memos are due January 22, which means they are being written right now. We encourage emails and calls to Councilmember by Friday, January 12, especially since Monday, January 15 is a federal holiday.

What can you do?
Please identify ONLY people who are well connected to the various Council Members (these may be Trustees, friends, Labor Union members or key community members,) and ask them to call the Council members to ask them to include in their budget memos that Arts and Culture are a high priority and that they seek to fully fund Penny for the Arts. Stories about arts programs and audience engagement in THEIR districts are also extremely valuable.

We are interested in results. Once you or your delegate has made contact with the Trustees, please let us know which of the Councilmembers respond and what they say by sending information to SDRACC Association Manager Jessica Amaya at jessamaya.sdracc@gmail.com 

Thank you.

 
District Name Email
District 1 Councilmember Barbara Bry barbarabry@sandiego.gov
District 2 Councilmember Lorie Zapf loriezapf@sandiego.gov
District 3 Councilmember Chris Ward christopherward@sandiego.gov
District 4 Council President Myrtle Cole myrtlecole@sandiego.gov
District 5 Councilmember Mark Kersey markkersey@sandiego.gov
District 6 Councilmember Chris Cate chriscate@sandiego.gov
District 7 Councilmember Scott Sherman scottsherman@sandiego.gov
District 8 Councilmember David Alvarez davidalvarez@sandiego.gov
District 9 Councilmember Georgette Gomez georgettegomez@sandiego.gov